MCAV Board of Management

MCAV Office Bearers

The Mountain Cattlemen’s Association of Victoria is an incorporated Association. The association was formed by grazing families to work together to save grazing leases and the history and cultural identity of the mountain cattlemen. The association is based on four geographical branches, North East, Gippsland, Omeo and Mansfield. A Board of Management oversees the association and each branch delegates two representatives to that council.

In addition, the executive positions of President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected each year at the Annual General Meeting. Three other positions are available, the imeediate past President and two positions that may be subscribed for special purpose, one of these positions may be held by an associate. This year we have a Special Projects and a Get Together position on the Board.


Graeme Stoney has had a lifetime involvement with the Mountain Cattlemen. Graeme is a former member of the Victorian Parliament representing the upper house seat of Central Highlands from 1992 until 2006. The Stoney family originally had grazing licences on the Bluff Range and now Graeme runs Narboorac in the Howqua Valley.

Vice President

Ben Treasure comes from many generations of Mountain Cattlemen with licences on the Dargo High Plains. He is the son of Doug Treasure, a revered former President of the MCAV. Ben lives with his wife Fiona and family in Traralgon.


Simon Turner is the Treasurer of the MCAV. The Turners are a well known Mountain Cattlemen family from Swifts Creek area.


Ken Heywood is the Secretary of the MCAV. Ken Heywood owns part of Catherine Station in North East Victoria.

Projects Officer

Chris Commins is the Projects Officer of the MCAV.

The Commins' family grazing licences are on Nunniong Plateau, North of Ensay. First acquired by James Lilburne Commins in 1934 and subsequently his sons, James, Philip and Charles Commins. Current licence holders are Bruce and Chris Commins along with Philip (Bluey) Commins. The family has had a strong involvement with the MCAV since its creation. Jim Commins was a Foundation Member and President of the MCAV for ten years from 1977 to 1987. His son Chris, was Vice President for several years before becoming President 2010 to 2011. Chris is currently the MCAV representative on the Fire Management Victoria Stakeholder Roundtable and MCAV Liaison for the Indigenous Firestick Burning Program.

Board of Management

  • Graeme Stoney (President)
  • Ken Heywood (Secretary)
  • Ben Treasure (Vice President)
  • Simon Turner (Treasurer)
  • Cassandra McCormack
  • Kellie Lovick
  • Mark Coleman
  • Chris Commins (Special Projects)
  • Danny Cook
  • D'Arcy Fitzgerald
  • Chris Cooper
  • Bruce Treasure
  • Lyric Anderson
  • Charlie Lovick (Past President)
  • Bruce McCormack (Get Together)