Mountain Cattlemen

Caring for the High Country since 1834
outback tagalongoutback tour outback 4X4 outback adventure adventure tour

MCAV Office Bearers


The Mountain Cattlemen’s Association of Victoria is an incorporated Association. The association was formed by grazing families to work together to save grazing leases and the history and cultural identity of the mountain cattlemen. The association if based on four geographical branches, North East, Gippsland, Omeo and Mansfield. A central council oversees the association and each branch delegates three representatives to that council. In addition the executive positions of President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected each year at the Annual General Meeting(AGM).

Charlie Lovick
Charlie Lovick - President


Charlie Lovick is President of the Association. Together with his partner Glenda he operates Lovick's Adventure Rides through the High Country. Charlie's forebears have been operating cattle in the High Country since the late 1800's and is a fourth generation cattleman with a lifelong association with the High Country.

tanami Track
Chris Cooper

Vice President

Chris Cooper and his wife Janine live on their property "Rockbank" at Wulgulmerang where they graze cattle. Their family are synonymous with Alpine Grazing and have a long history of involvement in the mountains.

simon turner
Simon Turner

Vice President

Simon Turner and his wife Rowena live at Bindi near Swifts Creek. The Turner family have been mountain cattlemen for generations. Their family built Nunnet Hut.

Well 50 Cannning Stock Route
Graeme Stoney - Public Officer

Executive Officer

Graeme Stoney has had a lifetime involvement with the Mountain Cattlemen. Graeme is a former member of the Victorian Parliament representing the upper house seat of Central Highlands from 1992 until 2006

Breaden Hills Cannning Stock Route
Chris Commins-Project Officer

Projects Officer

The Commins family cattle runs are on Nunniong Plateau, North of Ensay. First acquired by James Lilburne Commins in 1934 and subsequently his sons, James, Philip and Charles Commins. Current licence holders are Bruce and Chris Commins along with Philip (Bluey) Commins. The family has had a strong involvement with the MCAV since its creation. Jim Commins was a Foundation Member and President of the MCAV for ten years from 1977 to 1987. His son Chris, was Vice President for several years before becoming President 2010 to 2011. Chris is currently the MCAV representative on the Department of Environment and Primary Industry Land and Fire Management Stakeholder Roundtable. 2013, was appointed to the Alpine Advisory Committee.

Anne Faithfull
Anne Faithfull - Treasurer


Rose Faithfull is the Treasurer. Rose works tirelessley to ensure the MCAV has funds to campaign effectively on behalf of its members. The Faithfulls are a well known Mountain Cattlemen family from Benambra.

Georgie Connan
Georgie Connan - Secretary


Georgie Connan's role includes membership and general running of the MCAV.

Central Council Delegates

Diana Hurley
Bruce McCormack
Ken Heywood
Simon Turner
David Hurley
Kellie Purvis
Glen Chalwell
Chris Commins
John McMahon
Graeme Stoney
Christa Treasure
Danny Cook
Joe Connley
Chris Cooper
Ray Anderson
Bruce Treasure